November wrap up. Because apparently I blog once a month now.

Wow!  That was a new record for blog neglect, even for me!  Although no one actually expected me to write about Thanksgiving in November, I’m sure, because that would just be CRAZY.

I think Thanksgiving was nice, although it was so long ago I can barely remember it.  I COOKED, which is shocking, seeing as I have not cooked in four years now.  My mom, Alex, and my Aunt Kerri came over.  Just look at this nutty bunch!

And that was the best picture of us!  We will blame Mike’s photography skills for the fact that we look like a pile of loons.  He OBVIOUSLY used the wrong angle or lighting or something.

I am typing the menu here, not because anyone cares, but as PROOF that I cooked an actual meal.  (Because who knows when it will ever happen again.)  Turkey!

Ew.  I had to pull out the neck and stuff, and touch it, and I splattered bloody juice everywhere, and oh- and it came with a FEATHER stuck to it.  Next Thanksgiving’s protein will be a platter of peanut butter sandwiches, because raw poultry is gross.   It was organic, however, which means it was free range raised without hormones or pesticides EXPENSIVE.

I also made mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, (both from real potatoes- the kind you have to peel!) green beans, carrots, corn, rolls, fancy stuffing with salmonella for my mom, microwaved boxed stuffing for me, gravy from the turkey even though I had a jar as backup but didn’t use it because I ROCK, homemade cranberry sauce from actual cranberries that not a single person ate but looked pretty, cranberry sauce in the shape of the can that would have been the only thing Matthew would have eaten had he not been sitting next to a watchful Nanna, and a pumpkin cheesecake with a gingersnap crust.  The crust would have taken three minutes in a food processor.  I do not own one, and had to smash the gingersnaps with the bottom of a salsa jar through a colander set inside of a bowl.  It only took seventy minutes and a ligament from my right elbow!  It tasted good, but will not be made again until I own a fricking food processor.

I think that is all from Thanksgiving.  All I can remember at the moment, anyway.  Hey, guess what!  There are only 17 days until Christmas!  Neat, right!  NO.  NOT SO MUCH.  How did that happen??!  I would panic if I had the energy for it.

 We went ice skating as a family yesterday!  It was our first time.  Michael was gliding along like a professional within minutes, and Matthew did well (although he did need the walker-thing for support.)  I was not planning on trying it, as I am still scarred by a traumatic roller skating experience from a middle school field trip.  (I had to hang on to the wall, and it took me about an hour to go around the rink once.)  (Seriously, an hour.  After my one lap I spent the rest of the time on a bench wondering how EVERYONE ELSE had NO PROBLEMS skating, and why I was born without balance and coordination.)  But the twins could not stand up (even with the walkers) by themselves, and Mike could only help one at a time, so I had to get skates.  In a rink full of children no one was having trouble, though, so how bad could it be?  DEAR GOD.  I could not ice skate while using a walker, much less a walker containing a 3-year-old TANTRUMMING on ICE because Go faster! I want to go fast Mommy won’t go fast I want Daddy, and who DID NOT CARE that Mommy could barely GO AT ALL, or even STAY UPRIGHT by herself, much less while supporting a small flailing sliding kicking screamer.  Who attracted even MORE attention to my personal NIGHTMARE.  I thought I was fairly used to public humiliation (thanks to a pair of violent screeching twins) but I WAS WRONG. 

My uncle coached ice hockey for years, and now is a mentor for a “special hockey” league for autistic and Down syndrome kids (who SKATE BETTER THAN I DO) and he said that rental skates are really dull and impossible to skate in.  So I am telling myself that I just need good ice skates, and someone to tell me how to do it.  I am NOT telling myself that Michael was skating in minutes without either of those things, because getting your ass kicked by your 8-year-old is a little embarrassing.   There are no pictures of this horrible event, and if there were, I WOULD DELETE THEM.  And since this entire experience was not humiliating enough already, even though I only “skated” (ha!) for 3 1/2 minutes MY WHOLE BODY IS SORE TODAY.  Thank you, body, for the constant reminder of both the afternoon I am trying to forget and the fact that I am in crappy shape.  Remember my modest “I rock!”?  Officially retracted.

I promise I will not disappear again.  (Probably.)  I will have much to tell you about Christmas preparations, and family news, and most importantly BAKUGAN.  What the hell is a ‘Bakugan’?  I don’t know, other than Matthew NEEEDS some to live, although if I have to hear about them much more an entire Bakugan army won’t be able to save him from his mother’s crazy.

December 7, 2008. Tags: . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Awex replied:

    I think Jennifer and Mike did an EXCELLENT job hosting Thanksgiving. The food, company, and environment could never be equaled anywhere else. In fact, so perfect was this holiday that in this day and age we can find simple-comfort knowing this is a welcomed family tradition !

    Thanks for stepping up to the plate Jennifer (no pun intended)……you’re the best. 🙂

    Awex

  2. bakugan replied:

    So Lucky That I found your blog and great articles. I will come to your blog often for finding new great article from your blog. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

