That would be an interesting Christmas card picture…

Remember how I was totally planning on writing more frequently?  Guess what happened that’s funny?!  Our computer BROKE!  Blah blah “motherboard” blah blah “power supply” blah blah what the foo ever I HAVE NO COMPUTER.  No blog, no email, no online shopping–  it’s a GOOD THING I never have time to use the blooming thing anyway, or I would be TICKED.

Holiday preparations are coming along!  The plastic tubs holding our Christmas decorations have been in our living room since the day after Thanksgiving, although I’m not sure why, seeing as I’m not stupid enough to actually unpack anything, considering the twins can mangle things with a GLANCE.  Which is why we are not getting a tree until the last possible moment.  Like, say, next year. 

The twins are having fun with the holidays this year, though.  This is the first Christmas that they really understand what is going on, and are very enthusiastic about everything!  They love nutcrackers, which they play pretend with.  The nutcrackers have long conversations with each other, and have many adventures together, and love to smash Cheerios in to dust with their wooden jaws.  (Before getting their noses broken off.  And their feet.  And their fake fur hair.  Our house is gruesomely littered with small body parts.)  It is so nice to see the boys’ imaginations really taking off!  They found a pair of my beige string thong underwear in a basket of dirty laundry and within seconds Gregory (Rudolf the Red- Nosed Reindeer) was on his hands and knees, with panties (the harness) around his neck being held by Andrew (Santa).  They took turns travelling up and down the hallway like that for a good twenty minutes.  Should I have been worried that this is how kinky fetishes begin, or just happy they were playing nicely together?  Should I be worried that “playing nicely together” involves a pair of thong underwear and possible strangulation? 

Ha!  With the amount of violence and screaming and tantrums we enjoy here every day, I am tempted to give them a DRAWER full of women’s underpants, and just look forward to the therapy bills in the future.  I am tempted, but have (so far) resisted, because I have a hunch that may not fall under the heading of ‘responsible parenting’.  Of course, then again, a ‘responsible parent’ would probably have not let three of her children eat an entire gingerbread house (with candy) for BREAKFAST, but I must point out that at 6:30 am any activity that keeps everyone occupied and quiet until their mother consumes caffeine can’t be all bad.  Naturally that entire scenario is hypothetical, of course, because I would obviously never allow that sort of behavior.  I’m ‘responsible’, remember?  (Who just laughed?!  I heard that!)

December 14, 2008. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Emily replied:

    Oh. My. God!! I feel terrible but I have to tell you that when I’m feeling poopy about motherhood I read your blog and it always makes me feel better! BUT… Because that’s a super sucky thing to say 😉 I hereby offer you a place to run to should you come close(r) to coming *unraveled*

    Someone should be giving you a MEDAL for Christmas. And a cruise. And a vat of liquor. And a half-naked hot boy masseuse who will also fan you with a palm frond while feeding you bonbons (because grapes are way too healthy)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

